Technical Program for Day 5, FRIDAY 17th April 2015

08:00–08:30 Morning Coffee


08:30-08:50 Application of conventional and new methods for estimation of seismic wave attenuation in carbonate rocks using VSP data in Abu-Dhabi oil fields., Fateh Bouchaala; Jun Matsushima; Mohammed.Y Ali, The Petroleum Institute, United Arab Emirates. (52)

08:50-09:10 Separating intrinsic from scattering seismic wave attenuation from sonic logs in a geothermal field, Evert Duran, Kasper van Wijk, Ludmila Adam, Irene Wallis, University of Auckland. (45)

09:10-09:30 The impact of wave-induced fluid flow on the seismic reflection in heterogeneous porous media, Luanxiao Zhaoa, De-hua Han, Qiuliang Yao, Rui Zhou, and Fuyong Yan, Tongji University and University of Houston. (99)

09:30-09:50 A simple recipe for solid substitution in porous rocks, Boris Gurevich and Nishank Saxena, Curtin University and CSIRO Energy. (89)

09:50-10:10 Laboratory evidence for Krauklis wave resonance in fractures, Pei-Ju Rita Shih, Marcel Frehner, ETH Zurich. (65)

10:10–10:40 Morning Tea


10:40-11:00 Towards integrating conventional and digital rock physics, S. Alizadeh, N. Francois, S. Latham, T. Senden, J. Middleton, A. Limaye, and C.H. Arns, UNSW Australia. (91)

11:00-11:20 Numerical analysis of high resolution X-ray CT images of Bentheim Sandstone under confining pressure, Erik H. Saenger, Maxim Lebedev, David Uribe, Maria Osorno, Stefan Inglauer and Holger Steeb. , International Geothermal Centre Bochum (GZB). (42)

11:20-11:40 Numerical upscaling of seismic characteristics of strongly heterogeneous poroelastic media: Randomly distributed parallel fractures, Eva Caspari, Marco Milani, J. Germán Rubino, Tobias M. Müller, Beatriz Quintal and Klaus Holligera , University of Lausanne and CSIRO. (90)

11:40-12:10 Attenuation characteristics of seismic waves in fractured rock domains, Carlo Vinci, Nele Pollmann, Joerg Renner, and Holger Steeb, Ruhr-University Bochum. (53)

12:10–12:30 Discussion
12:30–13:30 Lunch
13:30-13:50 Discussion
13:50–14:30 Student Awards